Awards and Distinctions

CEU Buildings Win Honorable Mention in Architecture Competition

CEU's new Nador 13 and Nador 15 buildings received an honorable mention award in the annual architecture competition held by the Chamber of Hungarian Architects, with the support of the City of Budapest. The competition aims to recognize significant architectural contributions to the cityscape and demonstrate the exemplary cooperation among partners that is necessary for high-quality design and execution.

Hennings Awarded ESSA Book Prize for 2017

Jan Hennings, associate professor at CEU's Department of History, received the prize "for most outstanding recent scholarly monograph on pre-modern Slavdom" awarded by the Early Slavic Studies Association (ESSA) during its meeting at the 49th Annual Convention of the Association for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies (ASEEES) in Chicago in November 2017. 

Csilla Kollonay-Lehoczky Awarded Pro Iure Laboris Prize

Csilla Kollonay-Lehoczky, professor emerita in the Department of Legal Studies at CEU has been awarded the Pro Iure Laboris Prize on occasion of the 14th Hungarian Labour Law Conference held in Visegrad October 10-12. The prize is an acknowledgement of a valuable career contributing to the development and values of labour and employment law.

Kollonay-Lehoczky, former director of the Doctoral Program, has been teaching in the department since 1992. 

Klaniczay Receives International Prize for History

Gabor Klaniczay, University Professor at the Department of Medieval Studies, received  the International Prize for History at the General Assembly of the International Committee of Historical Sciences (CISH) on September 29 in Moscow. Klaniczay was awarded the prize for the excellence of his work last year.

Romhanyi Receives Kaldor Prize

Balazs Romhanyi, visiting professor in the Department of Economics and Business at CEU, has been awarded the Kaldor Prize by the jury of the Department of Economic Policy and Macroeconomics of the Corvinus University of Budapest. The prize, named after  Lord Nicholas Kaldor, an economics professor of Hungarian origin at Cambridge University, is given every year to an economist who contributes to solving economic problems.