Open Society

CEU Names Medecins Sans Frontieres Winner of 2016 CEU Open Society Prize

Budapest, May 26, 2016 – Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF, known as Doctors Without Borders in English) has been named the winner of the 2016 CEU Open Society Prize in recognition of the courageous humanitarian leadership the organization has shown throughout the world. The award, given annually, was first presented to Sir Karl Popper in 1994. Subsequent winners include Vaclav Havel, Arpad Goncz, Ricardo Lagos, Carla Del Ponte, Kofi Annan, Javier Solana, Kristalina Georgieva and Richard C. Holbrooke.