How CEU Works

Central European University ("CEU" or the "University") was founded in 1991 to support the democratic transitions in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Launching a new undergraduate offer in 2020, it is now a global graduate university, based in Budapest and Vienna, with students from more than 100 countries and faculty from over 50. The language of instruction is English. The mission of the University, which today includes 15 academic departments, a doctoral school and 20 research centers, is to promote open societies and democracy, through advanced research, and research-based teaching, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.