Board of Trustees

Incorporated in the State of New York, Central European University (CEU) is organized as an American higher education institution, governed by a Board of Trustees, which has general charge of the affairs, property and assets of CEU. Trustees carry out the aims and purposes of the Corporation, formulate strategy for the implementation of endeavors defined in the preamble of the University By-Laws, and, to this end, manage and control all of its property and assets.

The Board decides upon establishment or cessation of teaching sites and departments, after consulting the Senate and the President and Rector. The Board of Trustees issues financial guidelines, and decides upon possible departures from such guidelines. The Board of Trustees decides upon tuition fees.


  • George Soros, Honorary Chairman of the Board (Soros Fund Management LLC, New York)
  • Geoffrey W. Smith, Chairman of the Board (Digitalis Ventures, New York)
  • Peter Baldwin (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Leonard Benardo (Open Society Foundations, New York)
  • Attila Chikan (Corvinus University, Budapest)
  • Carol T. Christ (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Ronald J. Daniels (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore)
  • Antonio Foglia (Banca del Ceresio Group, Lugano)
  • Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger (Vienna University of Economics and Business)
  • Mark Malloch-Brown (Open Society Foundations, New York)
  • Peter A. Nadosy (East End Advisors, New York)
  • J. Robert S. Prichard (Torys LLP, Toronto)
  • Shalini Randeria (CEU President)
  • Gordon Rausser (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Alexander Soros (Deputy Chair of the Open Society Foundations, New York)
  • Andreas Treichl (Erste Foundation, Vienna)