Senate Committees

Academic committees are elected by CEU Senate or appointed by CEU senior officers, and represent key elements of CEU academic self-governance.

Committee on Strategic Development

Advises the Senate and the Rector on University strategic planning matters.

Contact: Georgeta Munteanu

Equal Opportunity Committee

The Committee has key role in coordinating and monitoring activities falling under CEU Equal Opportunity policy.

Contact: Maria Kronfeldner

Ethical Research Committee

Oversees implementation of the CEU Ethical Research Policy including through elaboration of the CEU Ethical Research Guidelines.

Contact: Eszter Bordas

Senate Curriculum and Academic Quality Assurance Committee

Advises the Rector and the Senate on university-wide academic quality matters.

Contact: Tatiana Yarkova

Re-appointment and Promotion Committee

Reviews and discusses all promotion and re-appointment cases of the academic departments, and advises the Pro-Rector for Research anf Faculty on forming a recommendation.

Contact: Boroka Beni

Review Committee

Investigates claims that promotion and re-appointment procedure, as detailed in the Academic Staff Handbook, was not properly applied.

Contact: Aleh Cherp

Scholarship Advisory Committee

Advises the Senate on the University's scholarship policy; decides upon requests for scholarships.

Contact: Ildiko Torok

Sustainability Advisory Committee

The CEU Sustainability Advisory Committee (CSAC) advises on strategy and actions towards the achievement of the CEU Sustainable Development Policy and fulfilment of CEU’s commitments as a signatory to the University Charter for Sustainable Development (COPERNICUS). 

Contact: Logan Strenchock

University Disciplinary Committee

Together with the Grievance Committee, implements the provisions of the Code of Ethics.

Contact: Markus Petsche

University Doctoral Committee

Makes decisions on all major aspects regarding doctoral studies, as spelled out in CEU's Doctoral Regulations.

Contact: Boroka Beni

University Grievance Committee

Makes proposals to the Senate relating to rules affecting the equal and fair treatment of each member of the University community, sits as an appellate body to the decisions of the Disciplinary Committee.

Contact: Zoltan Miklosi

University Library Committee

Advises the Senate and the CEU Library on the expansion and improvement of CEU's Library collections.

Contact: Sanjay Kumar

Non-Senate Committees

External Funding Committee

  • Agnes Batory (Chair)
  • Eva Fodor
  • Zsuzsanna Gabor (Ex-Officio Member)
  • Mark Kiss
  • Guenther Knoblich

Academic Support Committee

  • Agnes Batory
  • Zsuzsanna Gabor (Ex-Officio Member)
  • Bela Greskovits
  • Jasmina Lukic (Chair)

Contact person: Szilvia Bea, ACRO Financial Coordinator

Erasmus Staff Training Committee

  • Zsuzsanna Gabor
  • Ann Gagliardi
  • Rita Kumanovics

Student Travel and Research Grant  Committee

  • Alexios Antypas
  • Gyorgy Gereby
  • Attila Rátfai
  • Eszter Timar

Grant Committee of the Central European University Foundation Budapest Board

  • Agnes Batory
  • Eva Fodor (Chair)
  • Mark Kiss
  • Laszlo Kontler

Grant Committee of the Central European University - Private University

  • Christian Arthaber
  • Tim Crane
  • Eva Fodor
  • Mark Kiss

Rector's Standing Committee on Special Appointments

  • Shalini Randeria (Chair, ex-officio)
  • Agnes Batory (ex-officio)
  • Gergely Csibra
  • Michael Ignatieff

Contact person: Tatiana Yarkova, Academic Secretary

Research Excellence Support Fund Selection Committee

  • Agnes Batory 
  • Gergely Csibra
  • Zsuzsanna Gabor (Ex-officio)
  • Tijana Krstic
  • Adam Szeidl (Chair)

Teaching Development Grant Committee

  • Michael Kozakowski (Chair)
  • Erin Jenne
  • Tamara Steger

Contact person: Veronika Csapo, ACRO Research Grants Coordinator

Psychological Research Ethics Board

  • Gergely Csibra
  • Jozsef Fiser
  • Gyorgy Gergely
  • Christoph Heintz
  • Marton Karsai
  • Gunther Knoblich (Chair)
  • Agnes Melinda Kovacs
  • Mate Lengyel
  • Vlad Namescu
  • Azzurra Ruggeri
  • Natalie Sebanz
  • Erno Teglas
  • Eva Wittenberg