The Senate consists of the Rector and the elected representatives of the faculty (8), staff (1) and students (3). The Rector chairs the Senate, which meets at least three times a year.

The Senate considers and makes recommendations concerning all matters of general University interest, and takes decisions on establishing, modification, and closure of academic programs; approval or modification of academic policies; and other academic matters. The Senate sets up Senate committees assigned with oversight of specific thematic areas or monitoring of implementation of policies adopted by the Senate. For the list of Senate committees, please see here.

The minutes of Senate meetings and Senate decisions are available for the members of CEU community at this link (login required). 

Contact person: Tatiana Yarkova, Academic Secretary.

The current members of the CEU Academic Senate are:


Elected senior faculty representatives

Elected administrative staff representative

Student representatives in 2022-23

  • James Barr
  • Viswesh Rammohan
  • Bharti Sanskriti