CEU Board Elects Carol T. Christ as New Member

November 16, 2015

The CEU Board of Trustees has elected a new Trustee, Carol T. Christ, at its most recent meeting on October 18. Christ is the director of Center for Studies in Higher Education at the University of California, Berkeley, and former executive vice-chancellor and provost of the University of California, Berkeley, and former president of Smith College.

Christ graduated with high honors from Douglass College, the women's college at Rutgers University. She received a Ph.D. in English from Yale University. In 1970, Christ joined the faculty at the University of California, Berkeley and was chair of the English department from 1985 to 1988. In 1988 she was appointed dean of humanities, mathematics, and natural sciences. She also served as provost and dean of the College of Letters and Sciences. In 1994, Christ was appointed vice chancellor and provost (and later became executive vice chancellor) at Berkeley. She was the highest-ranking female administrator at Berkeley until she returned to full-time teaching in 2000. She became Smith's 10th president in 2002, and led the college until 2013. At Smith, Christ led an energetic and wide-ranging strategic planning process to identify the distinctive intellectual traditions of the Smith curriculum and foster initiatives to further develop students’ essential capacities. Throughout her administrative career, Christ has maintained an active program of teaching and research. She has published two books: The Finer Optic: The Aesthetic of Particularity in Victorian Poetry and Victorian and Modern Poetics. She also edited a Norton Critical Edition of George Eliot’s The Mill on the Floss and co-edited the Norton Anthology of English Literature and Victorian Literature and The Victorian Visual Imagination. She was named Director of Center for Studies in Higher Education at the University of Berkeley in 2014.

Christ is a trustee of Sarah Lawrence College and Dominican University of California. Christ was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2004 and a Member of the American Philosophical Society in 2013. Additionally, she was awarded Yale University's Wilbur Cross Medal in 2007, and in 2011, the American College of Greece awarded her an honorary doctorate.