CEU Staff Share International Education Best Practices at EAIE Conference

CEU, together with other Hungarian universities, was represented in the Study in Hungary booth at the European Association for International Education (EAIE) Annual Conference in Liverpool September 13-16. Academic Cooperations Officer Agnes Leyrer, Global Partnerships Officer Monica Jitareanu and Erasmus Mobility Coordinator Anna Szathmari, and Vice President for Enrollment Management & Alumni Relations Serge Sych gave presentations on student experience, alumni relations and internalization best practices. Sych was also presented with the EAIE Bo Gregersen Award for Best Practice at the conference.

CEU was commended for providing life-long career services for CEU alumni and for its non-traditional services and structural features, such as the institution and open door policy of the Dean of Students, or the representation of international students in the Senate. Jitareanu and Szathmari gave a presentation on the CEU Global Teaching Fellowship Program (GTFP) from the partner institutions’ perspective as a means to increase internationalization at home through the employment of CEU doctoral students and recent graduates as international lecturers. Over 40 visitors from Asia, Latin America, North America and Western Europe expressed interest in a GTFP.

Tempus Public Foundation, a non-profit organization, established in 1996 by the Hungarian Government, managing international cooperation programs and special projects in the field of education, training and EU-related issues, provided a Study in Hungary Booth at the EAIE Conference Exhbition Area, to which Hungarian universities could apply to participate. CEU was granted  the opportunity to participate along with Budapest Business School, ELTE, Eszterhazy Karoly University, the Hungarian University of Fine Arts, Obuda University, Semmelweis University, the University of Debrecen, the University of Miskolc, the University of Szeged, Szent Istvan University, the University of Pannonia and the University of Pecs.