CEU Faculty Edit Volume on Policy Experiments, Failures, and Innovations

The book, edited by Agnes Batory, professor at CEU's School of Public Policy and research fellow of the Center for Policy Studies (CPS), Andrew Cartwright, CPS research fellow,  and Diane Stone of the University of Canberra, and visiting scholar at CEU, takes a policy studies perspective in considering post-communist EU member states’ experiences since accession. It analyses policy transfer processes and expands the new and growing sub-field of policy failure by interrogating the binary ideas of ‘failure’ and ‘success’ in the context of the Central Eastern European (CEE) transition, democratic consolidation and European Union membership. The book draws on a number of contributions from CEU affiliates: Dragos AdascaliteiDaniela Craciun, Stefan Domonkos, Heather Grabbe, Achim KemmerlingAndrea KrizsanKristin Makszin, Liviu Matei, Gergo Medve-Balint, B. Guy Peters, Sara Svensson, Andras Tetenyi, Simona Torotcoi, and Violetta Zentai.