CEU's Klaniczay Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Central European University (CEU) announces that University Professor Gabor Klaniczay, founding faculty of the Department of Medieval Studies, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Founded in 1780, the Academy honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists, and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world.

"CEU rejoices in the honor accorded our colleague Gabor Klaniczay," said CEU President and Rector Michael Ignatieff. "The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the world's oldest and most distinguished academic institutions. We are proud of this recognition of Professor Klaniczay's extraordinary contribution to the study of history."

Klaniczay is one of 213 individuals elected in 25 categories from 125 institutions. Klaniczay is one of 36 international honorary members from 20 countries. Among those elected members are author Ta-Nehisi Coates; artist and scholar David C. Driskell; philosopher Robert Gooding-Williams; actor Tom Hanks; economist Hilary Hoynes and Supreme Court Justice Sonia M. Sotomayor. Klaniczay joins 2018 international honorary members including astrophysicist Jocelyn Bell Burnell; Tedros A. Ghebreyesus, the Director General of the World Health Organization; ecologist Johanna Mappes; biodiversity scholar Pablo Marquet and President and CEO of the International Rescue Committee David W. Miliband. The full list can be accessed here: www.amacad.org/members

The Academy's projects and publications generate ideas and offer recommendations to advance the public good in the arts, citizenship, education, energy, government, the humanities,internatio nal relations, science, and more. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony in October 2018 in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and join the Academy members who came before them, including Benjamin Franklin (1781) and Alexander Hamilton (elected 1791); Ralph Waldo Emerson, (1864), Maria Mitchell (1848),  and Charles Darwin (1874); and Albert Einstein (1924), Robert Frost (1931), Margaret Mead (1948), Milton Friedman (1959), and Martin Luther King, Jr. (1966).