Jean Monnet Chairs Publish Open Letter in Defence of CEU and European Values

28 current and former Jean Monnet Chairs published an open letter, entitled "Europe’s Shameful Silence," sent to European leaders on December 10 in reaction to CEU's being forced out of Hungary. " The fact that an independent university could be expelled from an EU member state is a galling attack on academic freedom that contravenes the Union’s core democratic values," the signatories say. 


Professor R. Daniel Kelemen, Jean Monnet Chair in EU Politics, Rutgers University

Professor Laurent Pech, Jean Monnet Chair of EU Public Law (2014-17), Middlesex University

Professor Alberto Alemanno, Jean Monnet Chair of EU Law and Regulation, HEC Paris


Prof. Dr. Luis Arroyo Jiménez, Jean Monnet Chair in European Administrative Law in Global Perspective, University of Castilla-La Mancha

Francisco Balaguer Callejón, Jean Monnet Professor ad personam of European Constitutional Law and Globalization, Universidad de Granada

Professor Gavin Barrett, Jean Monnet Chair of European Constitutional and Economic Law (2014-17), University College Dublin

Dr Giacomo Benedetto, Jean Monnet Chair in European Union Budget Policy, Royal Holloway, University of London

Professor Tanja Börzel, Jean Monnet Chair in European Integration, Berlin Center for European Studies, Otto Suhr Institute for Political Science, Freie Universität Berlin

Professor Tamara Ćapeta, Jean Monnet Chair (2012 -16); coordinator of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence ‘EU’s Global Leadership in the Rule of Law’ since 2018, Faculty of Law, Zagreb University

Professor Giuseppe Cataldi, Full Professor of International Law, University of Napoli "L’Orientale" – Coordinator, Jean Monnet Network “MAPS – Migration and Asylum Policy Systems. Weaknesses, Shortcomings and Reform Proposals”

Professor Michelle Cini, Jean Monnet Chair in European Politics, University of Bristol
Beatriz Pérez de las Heras, Jean Monnet Chair of Interdisciplinary Studies on European Integration, University of Deusto (Bilbao, Spain)

Sergio Fabbrini, Dean, Department of Political Science, Professor, Politics and International Relations, Jean Monnet Chair in European Institutions and PoliticsLUISS Guido Carli, Roma

Professor Amelia Hadfield, Jean Monnet Chair in European Foreign Affairs, Canterbury Christ Church University

Tamara K Hervey LLB PhD FAcSS PFHEA, Jean Monnet Professor of European Union Law, School of Law, University of Sheffield

Amie Kreppel, Jean Monnet Chair, Department of Political Science, University of Florida

Michael LaBelle, Associate Professor and Jean Monnet Chair in Energy and Innovation Strategies, Central European University, Department of Environmental Sciences and Policy and Department of Economics and Business

Professor Brigid Laffan, Director Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute (EUI), Jean Monnet Professor of European politics at University College Dublin, 1991-2004

Professor John O’Brennan, Jean Monnet Chair of European Integration, Maynooth University

Dr. Triantafyllia (Lina) Papadopoulou, Associate Professor of Hellenic and European Constitutional Law, Jean Monnet Chair for European Constitutional Law and Culture (2012-2015)

Professor Argyris G. Passas, Jean Monnet Chair in Public Administration and European Integration (2014-2017), Panteion University, Athens

Mark A. Pollack, Professor of Political Science and Law, Jean Monnet Chair, Director of Global Studies, Temple University

Dr Karolina Pomorska, Jean Monnet Chair, Leiden University

Uwe Puetter, Professor of European Public Policy and Governance, and formerly Jean Monnet Chair in European Public Policy and Governance, Central European University

Dr. Jorrit Jelle Rijpma, Associate Professor of EU law, Jean Monnet Chair in Mobility and Security in Europe (2017-20), Leiden Law School, Leiden University

Vivien Schmidt, Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration, Boston University

Professor Christina J. Schneider, Jean Monnet Chair of EU Politics, University of California, San Diego

Bernard Steunenberg, Jean Monnet ad personam chair in European Politics, and Chair in Public Administration, Leiden University

Amy Verdun, Jean Monnet Chair ad Personam, University of Victoria

Read the letter in full here