Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2021/2022

Please note: the academic calendar is also attached in .pdf format at the bottom of this page.

Students should consult their department/school/program academic calendar for special dates and exam periods.

2021 Fall Term

Academic Year begins

Sunday, August 1, 2021

EMBA Summer Teaching Module

Saturday, August 14 – Sunday, August 22, 2021

Assumption Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed

Sunday, August 15, 2021

Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest Campus is officially closed

Friday, August 20, 2021

Bachelor’s students arrive

First-year master’s and doctoral students arrive

Saturday, Sept 4 & Sunday, Sept 5, 2021

Pre-session week for bachelor’s students

Monday, Sept 6 – Friday, Sept 10, 2021

Orientation week for first-year master’s and doctoral students

Monday, Sept 6 – Friday, Sept 17, 2021

Continuing master’s and doctoral students arrive

Saturday, Sept 11 & Sunday, Sept 12, 2021

Registration for Fall Term begins
Monday, September 13, 2021
- Orientation week for bachelor’s student
- Zero week for master’s and doctoral students
Monday, Sept 13 – Friday, Sept 17, 2021

Opening ceremony

Thursday, September 16, 2021
Fall term begins
Monday, September 20, 2021

Student Union elections in departments and schools

Monday, Sept 20 – Tuesday, Sept 28, 2021

Registration for Fall Term ends

Monday, September 27, 2021

Department Heads meeting

Tuesday, September 28, 2021
TOWN HALL MEETING

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

End of add/drop period for courses Sunday, October 3, 2021
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students) Thursday, October 7, 2021
First Student Union Assembly meeting Wednesday, October 13, 2021
SENATE MEETING Friday, October 22, 2021
Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest Campus is officially closed Saturday, October 23, 2021
Austrian National Holiday, Vienna Campus is officially closed Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Department Heads meeting Wednesday, October 27, 2021
EMBA Fall Teaching Module Saturday, Oct 30 – Tuesday, November 2, 2021
All Saints’ Day,  Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed Monday, November 1, 2021
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Saturday, Nov 6 & Sunday, Nov 7, 2021
ACADEMIC FORUM Thursday, November 11, 2021
Department Heads meeting Tuesday, November 16, 2021
CEU Virtual Open House Friday, November 19, 2021
TOWN HALL MEETING Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Immaculate Conception Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed Wednesday, December 8, 2021
- Fall term ends
- SENATE MEETING

Friday, December 10, 2021

Registration for Winter Term begins

Monday, December 13, 2021

Department Heads meeting

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

Christmas Eve, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Friday, December 24, 2021

Christmas, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Saturday, December 25, 2021

Christmas, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Sunday, December 26, 2021

New Year’s Eve, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Friday, December 31, 2021

2022 Winter Term

New Year’s Day, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed       Saturday, January 1, 2022

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Epiphany Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed                           

Thursday, January 6, 2022

Winter Term begins

Monday, January 10, 2022

- Registration for Winter Term ends
- Deadline for submission of Fall Term grades

Monday, January 17, 2022

TOWN HALL MEETING

Wednesday, January 26, 2022

SENATE MEETING

Friday, January 28, 2022

Department Heads meeting

Tuesday, February 8, 2022

ACADEMIC FORUM

Thursday, February 10, 2022

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING
Saturday, February 26 & Sunday, February 27, 2022
TOWN HALL MEETING
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
Thursday, March 3, 2022
SENATE MEETING

Friday, March 11, 2022

EMBA Spring Teaching Module

Saturday, March 12 – Tuesday, March 15, 2022

- Department Heads meeting
- Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest Campus is officially closed

Monday, March 15, 2022

Registration for Spring Term begins

Monday, March 21, 2022

TOWN HALL MEETING

Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Winter Term ends

Friday, April 1, 2022

2022 Spring Term

Spring Term begins

Monday, April 4, 2022
- Registration for Spring Term ends
- Departments submit the final list of courses including cross-listed courses for the AY 2022-23 to the Student RecordsOffice and upload on the Course Hub
Monday, April 11, 2022

Departmen Heads meeting

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

ACADEMIC FORUM

Thursday, April 14, 2022

Good Friday, Budapest Campus is officially closed

Friday, April 15, 2022

Easter Sunday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Sunday, April 17, 2022

Easter Monday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Monday, April 18, 2022

Start of BA Spring classes

Tuesday, April 19, 2022

TOWN HALL MEETING

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Labor Day, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Sunday, May 1, 2022

SENATE MEETING

Friday, May 6, 2022

Deadline for submission of the Winter Term grades

Monday, May 9, 2022

Department Heads meeting

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

ACADEMIC FORUM Thursday, May 19, 2022
TOWN HALL MEETING Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Ascension Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed Thursday, May 26, 2022

End of BA Spring classes

Friday, May 27, 2022
- SENATE MEETING
- Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
Friday, June 3, 2022
Pentecost Sunday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed Sunday, June 5, 2022
Pentecost Monday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed Monday, June 6, 2022
Department Heads meeting Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Deadline for submission of the Spring Term grades of graduating students Friday, June 10, 2022

Corpus Christi Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed

Thursday, June 16, 2022

Spring Term ends

Friday, June 17, 2022
Summer University in Budapest begins Monday, June 20, 2022
COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY Friday, June 24, 2022
BOARD OF TRUSTEES  MEETING Saturday, June 25 & Sunday, June 26, 2022
Final deadline for all course grades for AY 2021-22 Friday, July 8, 2022

Summer University in Budapest ends

Friday, July 22, 2022
Academic Year ends Sunday, July 31, 2022

Most important dates 2022-23 (TBC)

  • September 16, Friday. Opening ceremony
  • September 19, Monday. Fall Term begins
  • December 9, Friday. Fall Term ends
  • January 9, Monday. Winter Term begins
  • March 31, Friday. Winter Term ends
  • April 3, Monday. Spring Term begins
  • June 16, Friday. Spring Term ends
  • June 23, Friday. Commencement ceremony