Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2022/2023

Please note: the academic calendar is also attached in .pdf format at the bottom of this page.

Students should consult their department/school/program calendar for special dates and exam periods.

2022 Fall Term

Academic Year begins

Monday, August 1, 2022

EMBA First Summer Teaching Module

Saturday, August 13 – Sunday, August 21, 2022

Assumption Day, Public Holiday in Austria

Monday, August 15, 2022

Public Holiday in Hungary

Saturday, August 20, 2022

Bachelor’s students arrive

First-year master’s and doctoral students arrive

Saturday, September 3 & Sunday, September 4, 2022

Orientation week for bachelor’s students

Monday, September 5 – Friday, September 9, 2022

Orientation week for first-year master’s and doctoral students

Monday, September 5 – Friday, September 9, 2022

Continuing master’s and doctoral students arrive

Saturday, September 10 & Sunday, September 11, 2022

Registration for Fall Term begins
Monday, September 12, 2022
- Pre-session week for bachelor’s student
- Zero week for master’s and doctoral students
Monday, September 12 – Friday, September 16, 2022
- OPENING CEREMONY
- Fall term begins
Monday, September 19, 2022

Student Union elections in departments and schools

Monday, September 19 – Tuesday, September 27, 2022

DEPARTMENT HEADS MEETING

Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Registration for Fall term ends

Sunday, October 2, 2022

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students) Thursday, October 6, 2022
First Student Union Assembly meeting Wednesday, October 12, 2022
Public Holiday in Hungary Sunday, October 23, 2022
Public Holiday in Austria Wednesday, October 26, 2022
ACADEMIC FORUM 3:00 – 5:00 p.m., QS Auditorium  Thursday, October 27, 2022
EMBA Fall Teaching Module Saturday, October 29 – Tuesday, November 1, 2022
Special Day Off in Hungary Monday, October 31, 2022
All Saints’ Day, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary Tuesday, November 1, 2022
DEPARTMENT HEADS MEETING Tuesday, November 15, 2022
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Saturday, November 19 & Sunday, November 20, 2022
TOWN HALL MEETING Thursday, November 24, 2022
SENATE MEETING Friday, December 2, 2022
Immaculate Conception Day, Public Holiday in Austria Thursday, December 8, 2022
Fall Term ends

Friday, December 9, 2022

Registration for Winter Term begins

Monday, December 12, 2022

BA Finals Week

Monday, December 12 – Friday, December 16, 2022

Christmas Eve, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary

Saturday, December 24, 2022

Christmas, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary

Sunday, December 25, 2022

Christmas, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary

Monday, December 26, 2022

2023 Winter Term

New Year’s Day, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary       Sunday, January 1, 2023

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

Thursday, January 5, 2023

Epiphany Day, Public Holiday in Austria                         

Friday, January 6, 2023

Winter Term begins

Monday, January 9, 2023

- Registration for Winter Term ends
- Deadline for submission of Fall Term grades

Monday, January 16, 2023

DEPARTMENT HEADS MEETING

Tuesday, February 7, 2023

EMBA Winter Teaching Module

Thursday, February 16 – Sunday, February 19, 2023

- ACADEMIC FORUM 3:00 – 5:00 p.m., QS Auditorium
- Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

Thursday, March 2, 2023

Public Holiday in Hungary
Wednesday, March 15, 2023
Registration for Spring Term begins 
Monday, March 20, 2023
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING

Saturday, March 25 & Sunday, March 26, 2023

TOWN HALL MEETING

Thursday, March 30, 2023

Winter Term ends

Friday, March 31, 2023

2023 Spring Term

- Spring Term begins

- Special registration period for BA Spring classes begins

Monday, April 3, 2023
Good Friday, Public Holiday in Hungary
Friday, April 7, 2023
Easter Sunday, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary
Sunday, April 9, 2023

Easter Monday, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary

Monday, April 10, 2023

- Registration for Spring Term ends

- DEPARTMENT HEADS MEETING

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

SENATE MEETING

Friday, April 14, 2023

Start of BA Spring classes

Monday, April 17, 2023

Special registration period for BA Spring classes ends

Monday, April 24, 2023

EMBA Spring Teaching Module

Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, May 7, 2023

Labor Day, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary

Monday, May 1, 2023

ACADEMIC FORUM 3:00 – 5:00 p.m., QS D001 Tiered room

Thursday, May 4, 2023

Deadline for submission of Winter Term grades

Monday, May 8, 2023

Ascension Day, Public Holiday in Austria

Thursday, May 18, 2023

End of BA Spring classes

Friday, May 26, 2023

Pentecost Sunday, Public Holiday in Austria and in Hungary

Sunday, May 28, 2023

Pentecost Monday, Public Holiday in Austria and Hungary Monday, May 29, 2023
BA Finals/Make-up classes Week Tuesday, May 30, 2023 – Friday, June 2, 2023
Deadline for submission of new course requests for AY 2023-24 in SITS Wednesday, May 31, 2023

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students) 

Thursday, June 1, 2023
SENATE MEETING
Friday, June 2, 2023
DEPARTMENT HEADS MEETING Tuesday, June 6, 2023
Corpus Christi Day, Public Holiday in Austria Thursday, June 8, 2023
Deadline for submission of Spring Term grades of graduating students  Friday, June 9, 2023
Deadline for submission of the Spring Term grades of graduating students Friday, June 10, 2022

Spring Term ends 

Friday, June 16, 2023

COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

Friday, June 23, 2023
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Saturday, June 24 & Sunday, June 25, 2023
Summer University in Budapest begins Monday, June 26, 2023

Final deadline for all course grades for AY 2022-23

Friday, July 7, 2023

- Deadline for finalizing course lists/diets for AY 2023-24 in SITS

- Deadline for uploading all courses for AY 2023-24 to the Course Hub

- Summer University in Budapest ends

- Academic Year ends

Monday, July 31, 2023

Most important dates in AY 2022/2023:

  • Monday, Sept. 19, 2022: Opening Ceremony
  • Monday, Sept. 19, 2022: Fall Term begins
  • Friday, Dec. 9, 2022: Fall Term ends
  • Monday, Jan. 9, 2023: Winter Term begins
  • Friday, March 31, 2023: Winter Term ends
  • Monday, April 3, 2023: Spring Term begins
  • Friday, June 16, 2023: Spring Term ends
  • Friday, June 23, 2023: Commencement Ceremony