Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2020/2021

Please note: the academic calendar is also attached in .pdf format at the bottom of this page.

Students should consult their department/school/program academic calendar for special dates and exam periods.

2020 Fall Term

Academic Year begins

Saturday, August 1, 2020

Assumption Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed

Saturday, August 15, 2020

Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest Campus is officially closed

Thursday, August 20, 2020

Special Day Off, CEU Budapest is officially closed

Friday, August 21, 2020

First-year master’s and doctoral students arrive

Saturday, Sept 5 & Sunday, Sept 6, 2020

Online orientaions for first-year master’s and doctoral students

Monday, Sept 7 – Friday, Sept 18, 2020

Bachelor’s students arrive                                                                               

Thursday, Sept 17 & Friday, Sept 18, 2020

Continuing master’s students arrive

Saturday, Sept 19 & Sunday, Sept 20, 2020

Registration for Fall Term begins

Monday, September 21, 2020
- Orientation week for bachelor’s student
- Zero week for master’s and doctoral students
Monday, Sept 21 – Friday, Sept 25, 2020

Opening ceremony

5 pm, Friday, September 25, 2020

Fall term begins

Monday, September 28, 2020

Student Union elections in departments and schools

Monday, Sept 28 – Tuesday, Oct 6, 2020

Department / School Heads meeting

Tuesday, September 29, 2020
ACADEMIC FORUM

Thursday, October 1, 2020

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students) Thursday, October 8, 2020
Registration for Fall Term ends Sunday, October 11, 2020
First Student Union Assembly meeting Wednesday, October 14, 2020
SENATE MEETING Thursday, October 22, 2020
Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest Campus is officially closed Friday, October 23, 2020
Austrian National Holiday, Vienna Campus is officially closed Monday, October 26, 2020
Department / School Heads meeting Tuesday, October 27, 2020
All Saints’ Day,  Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed Sunday, November 1, 2020
ACADEMIC FORUM Thursday, November 5, 2020
Department / School Heads meeting Tuesday, November 17, 2020
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Saturday, Nov 21 & Sunday, Nov 22, 2020
Immaculate Conception Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed Tuesday, December 8, 2020
SENATE MEETING Thursday, December 10, 2020

Department / School Heads meeting

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

Fall Term ends

Friday, December 18, 2020

Registration for Winter Term begins

Monday, December 21, 2020

Christmas Eve, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Thursday, December 24, 2020

Christmas, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Friday, December 25, 2020

Christmas, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Saturday, December 26, 2020

New Year’s Eve, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Thursday, December 31, 2020

2021 Winter Term

New Year’s Day, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed       Friday, January 1, 2021

Epiphany Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed                           

Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

Thursday, January 7, 2021

- Winter Term begins
- Deadline for submission of Fall Term grades

Monday, January 11, 2021

Registration for Winter Term ends

Sunday, January 17, 2021

ACADEMIC FORUM

Thusday, January 21, 2021

SENATE MEETING

Thusday, February 4, 2021

Department/School Heads meeting

Tuesday, February 9, 2021

ACADEMIC FORUM
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
Thursday, March 4, 2021
SENATE MEETING

Thursday, March 11, 2021

- Registration for Spring Term begins
- Hungarian National Holiday, Budapest Campus is officially closed

Monday, March 15, 2021

Department/School Heads meeting

Tuesday, March 16, 2021

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING

Saturday, March 27 & Sunday, March 28, 2021

- Winter Term ends
- Good Friday,  Budapest Campus is officially closed

Friday, April 2, 2021

2021 Spring Term

Easter Sunday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Sunday, April 4, 2021

Easter Monday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Monday, April 5, 2021

Spring Term begins

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Registration for Spring Term ends

Sunday, April 11, 2021

- Start of BA Spring classes

- Departments/schools submit the final list of courses including cross-listed courses for the AY 2021-22 to the Student Records Office and upload on the Course Hub

Monday, April 12, 2021

Department/School Heads meeting

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

ACADEMIC FORUM

Thursday, April 15, 2021

Labor Day, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed

Saturday, May 1, 2021

SENATE MEETING

Thursday, May 6, 2021

Deadline for submission of the Winter Term grades

Monday, May 10, 2021

Department/School Heads meeting

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Ascension Day, Vienna Campus is officially closed Thursday, May 13, 2021

End of BA Spring classes

Friday, May 21, 2021
Pentecost Sunday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed Sunday, May 23, 2021
Pentecost Monday, Vienna and Budapest campuses are officially closed Monday, May 24, 2021
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students) Tuesday, June 1, 2021
SENATE MEETING Wednesday, June 2, 2021
Corpus Christi Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed Thursday, June 3, 2021
Department/School Heads meeting Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Deadline for submission of the Spring Term grades of graduating students Friday, June 11, 2021

- Spring Term ends

- COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

Friday, June 18, 2021
BOARD OF TRUSTEES  MEETING Saturday, June 19 & Sunday, June 20, 2021
Summer University in Budapest begins Monday, June 21, 2021
Final deadline for all course grades for AY 2020-21 Friday, July 9, 2021

Summer University in Budapest ends

Friday, July 23, 2021
Academic Year ends Saturday, July 31, 2021

Most important dates 2021-22 (TBC)

  • September 17, Friday. Opening ceremony
  • September 20, Monday. Fall Term begins
  • December 10, Friday. Fall Term ends
  • January 10, Monday. Winter Term begins
  • April 1, Friday. Winter Term ends
  • April 4, Monday. Spring Term begins
  • June 17, Friday. Spring Term ends
  • June 24, Friday. Commencement ceremony