Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2018/2019

Please note: the calendar is also attached in .pdf format at the bottom of this page.

Students should consult their department/school/program academic calendar for special dates and exam periods.

August 1, Wednesday

Academic Year begins

August 20, Monday

Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

September 1/2, Sat/Sun

1st year students arrive for pre-session

September 3, Monday

  • Pre-session begins (until September 7, Friday)
  • Visiting and Exchange Students Welcome Event

September 7, Friday

  • Pre-session ends
  • Welcome afternoon for all students

September 8/9, Sat/Sun

2nd year master’s students arrive for Zero Week

September 10, Monday

  • Zero Week begins (until September 14, Friday)
  • Registration for Fall Term begins (until September 30, Sunday)

September 10-21

Student Union elections in departments and schools

September 14, Friday

  • 15:00 Opening ceremony
  • Zero Week ends

September 17, Monday

Fall Term begins (until December 7, Friday)

September 27, Thursday

First Student Union Assembly meeting

September 30, Sunday

Registration for Fall Term ends

October 2, Tuesday

Department/School Heads meeting

October 4, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
October 5, Friday SENATE meeting

October 20/21, Sat/Sun

Board of Trustees Meeting in New York

October 22, Monday

Special day off, CEU is officially closed

October 23, Tuesday

Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

October 25, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM

November 1, Thursday

All Saints’ Day, CEU is officially closed

November 2, Friday

Special day off, CEU is officially closed

November 5, Monday

Departments/schools submit updated schedule and cross-listed courses for Winter Term to the Students Record Office

November 23, Friday

SENATE meeting

December 3, Monday

Registration for Winter Term begins (until January 13, Sunday)

December 6, Thursday

TOWN HALL meeting

December 7, Friday

Fall Term ends

December 14, Friday

SENATE meeting

December 17-23

Offices with skeleton team, Library and Labs on weekend schedule

December 24, Monday

Christmas Eve, CEU is officially closed

December 25, Tuesday

Christmas Day, CEU is officially closed

December 26, Wednesday

Christmas Day, CEU is officially closed

December 27-30

Offices with skeleton team, Library and Labs on weekend schedule

December 31, Monday

New Year’s Eve, CEU is officially closed

January 1, Tuesday

New Year’s Day, CEU is officially closed

January 7, Monday

  • Winter Term begins (until March 29, Friday)
  • Visiting and Exchange Students Welcome Event
  • Deadline for submission of Fall Term grades

January 10, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

January 13, Sunday

Registration for Winter Term ends

February 5, Tuesday

Department/School Heads meeting

February 21, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM

February 25, Monday

Departments/schools submit updated schedule and cross-listed courses for Spring Term to the Student Records Office

March 7, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

March 8, Friday

SENATE meeting

March 15, Friday

Hungarian National Holiday, CEU is officially closed

March 18, Monday

Registration for Spring Term begins (until April 7, Sunday)

March 29, Friday

Winter Term ends

March 30/31, Sat/Sun

Board of Trustees Meeting in New York

April 1, Monday

Spring Term begins (until June 14, Friday)

April 2, Tuesday

Department/School Heads meeting

April 7, Sunday

Registration for Spring Term ends

April 9, Tuesday

TOWN HALL meeting

April 19, Friday

Good Friday, CEU is officially closed

April 21, Sunday

Easter Sunday, CEU is officially closed

April 22, Monday

Easter Monday, CEU is officially closed

April 24, Wednesday

SENATE meeting

April 26, Friday

  • Departments/schools submit the list of their own courses for the AY 2019-20 to the Student Records Office
  • Departments and schools start negotiations on cross listing agreements (until May 10, Friday)

May 1, Wednesday

Labor day, CEU is officially closed

May 2, Thursday

ACADEMIC FORUM

May 6, Monday

Deadline for submission of the Winter Term grades

May 10, Friday

  • Departments/schools submit the final list of courses including cross-listed courses for the AY 2019-20 to the Student Records Office
  • Departments/schools start scheduling courses for Fall Term 2019-20

May 17, Friday

SENATE meeting

May 31, Friday

Deadline for submission of the Spring Term grades of graduating students

June 6, Thursday

Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)

June 7, Friday

SENATE meeting

June 9, Sunday

Pentecost Sunday, CEU is officially closed

June 10, Monday

Pentecost Monday, CEU is officially closed

June 14, Friday

Spring Term ends

June 22/23,Sat/Sun

Board of Trustees Meeting in Budapest

June 24, Monday

COMMENCEMENT

July 1, Monday

Summer University begins

July 12, Friday

Final deadline for all course grades for AY 2018-19

July 26, Friday

Summer University ends

August 31, Wednesday

Academic Year ends