Open Society Prize

The CEU Open Society Prize is awarded annually to an outstanding individual or organization whose achievements have contributed substantially to the creation of an open society. The prize was first awarded in 1994, to philosopher Sir Karl Popper, whose book The Open Society and Its Enemies (1945) presented a philosophy of tolerance, openness and democratic values.

For a list of winners, click here.

CEU calls for the Belarusian authorities to immediately cease its acts of harassment, both against Svetlana Alexievich and against all citizens.

CEU awarded its highest honor, the Open Society Prize, to the journalist and 2015 Nobel laureate for Literature.

Budapest, June 24, 2019 – Central European University awarded its highest honor, the Open Society Prize, to Columbia University professor and economist Joseph E. Stiglitz.

Budapest, June 14 2018 –Central European University is awarding its highest honor, the Open Society Prize, to the distinguished Hungarian economist Janos Kornai in recognition of his work in inspiring economic transition in former communist societies. Created in 1994, the award has been given to Karl Popper, Vaclav Havel, Arpad Goncz, Tom Lantos, Bronislaw Geremek, Ricardo Lagos, Carla Del Ponte, Kofi Annan, Richard C. Holbrooke, Joachim Gauck and Kristalina Georgieva, among others. The Prize will be presented to Kornai at CEU's commencement ceremony in Budapest on June 22.  

Budapest, May 30, 2017 – Mr. Joachim Gauck has been awarded the 2017 Open Society Prize in recognition of his courageous defense of human rights and his distinguished record in the service of free societies. Mr. Gauck, called “a true teacher of democracy” by German Chancellor Angela Merkel, served as president of Germany from 2012 to 2017.